Body Integration.

This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?  (Author: Patrick Reynolds)
 

So I am little nervous about sharing my answer to this prompt.  I am thinking the more acceptable answer would be:

I felt most integrated with my body during prayer and while meditating.

Or,

During my spiritual healing work I felt there was a cohesive me.

Those statements are true but I don’t things as often as I should.  The truth is, the times this year when I have felt most integrated with my body was during Zumba.  Zumba?  Yes.  I hate to admit it, but it’s true.

This is the place where I consistently have felt alive and present in my body. Now I could front and say I feel this way only in classes where the teachers use better music— that it is more spiritually aligned or something…  But just last night I went to a class and shook my butt to some Lady Gaga, and loved it.

Even for a purist and music snob like me, I have to admit that there is something about Zumba–  the joy, the movement, the rhythms, the sense of community.

I have beef with the brand that is Zumba! (say it with jazz hands, Zoom-bah!).  They promote watered down muzak versions of original classics and push their Zumba gear mad hard.  Still,  there is something about what it does that is powerful.

Women (and some men) gather to move their bodies in an overwhelmingly welcoming, accepting, and fun atmosphere. Once newbies get beyond any initial self-awareness, shyness or awkwardness, it is pretty easy to get that alive and present feeling.

There, I said it, Zumba is the time during the week where I enter a “zone” where I feel a cohesive me– no age, no children, no work– just my passionate, alive and vibrant self in my body, and moving it.

2 thoughts on “Body Integration.

  1. Music and Dance are spiritual! And whether or not someone buys the Zumba! leggings in black and neon, they are still getting the same opportunity to let go.

    I’m so glad that you feel such a connection to the Zumba “experience” because it means you’ll be at the Y for a while. :) And while I still miss my Wednesday “love thy body – love thyself” fest with Irisha, your class comes pretty close; I laugh at myself and enjoy the music just (almost) as much. Body and Soul, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

